AUSTIN, TEXAS — Yesterday, the United States Department of Education (USDE) announced that 26 Texas schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon schools for 2020. Recipients of this prestigious honor are selected based on a school’s high level of student achievement or their exemplary progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

Of the 26 schools selected, three Senate District 20 schools were recognized: Kelly-Pharr Elementary School (Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD), the Windsor Park G/T Elementary School (Corpus Christi ISD), and the Early Childhood Development Center (Corpus Christi ISD). All 26 campuses nominated by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) in February received the designation. TEA’s nomination was based on student performance on the first administration of the 2019 STAAR assessments.

Senator Hinojosa issued the following statement:

“Congratulations to all the schools in Texas who were selected for this honor. I especially would like to recognize the students and educators at Kelly-Pharr Elementary School, Windsor Park G/T Elementary School, and the Early Childhood Development Center. Their National Blue Ribbon designation is attributed to the hard work of the students and the dedication and commitment from their teachers and administrators. Education is the greatest equalizer in our society and is the key to our future successes.”

Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa served as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, Vice Chair of the Senate Redistricting Committee, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development; Transportation; Agriculture, and Texas Ports.

Comments are closed.