Senator Hinojosa Receives the “2019 Senator of the Year” Award from the Texas State Association of Fire Fighters

Houston, Texas – Today, the Texas State Association of Fire Fighters (TSAFF), honored Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa with the 2019 TSAFF Senator of the Year Award for the 2019 Legislative Session at the organization’s annual conference. He was honored with this award for his leadership in authoring Senate Bill 2551 and his extraordinary efforts on behalf of Texas firefighters.

Senate Bill 2551 made it easier for a firefighter to file for worker’s compensation if diagnosed with one of eleven specified cancers. Before the bill was passed, there was a question about what types of cancers would be covered or not covered. This bill clarifies it and establishes a defined procedure by which they will receive their benefits without having to go through a long process.

Senator Hinojosa expressed his appreciation for the honor of this award:

“I am thankful and humbled that the Texas State Association of Fire Fighters has recognized me with this distinguished award. Senate Bill 2551 addresses the challenges faced by firefighters trying to get compensation for work-related injuries or health issues. Our firefighters have earned and deserve our support. These brave men and women do not hesitate to enter into a burning building to save lives and property. Firefighters incur a higher risk of being diagnosed with certain cancers due to exposure while on the job. By identifying specific cancers in statute that have been proven to cause cancer, the bill reduces the hurdles and ambiguity faced by our firefighters when they are fighting for their benefits they have earned.

Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance and the Senate Committee on Redistricting, and serves on the Senate Committees on Property Tax; Natural Resources & Economic Development; Transportation; Agriculture; and Select Committee on Texas Ports.

Comments are closed.