Senator Hinojosa Appointed to Senate School Finance Workgroup

AUSTIN, TX — Today, Senator Jane Nelson, Chair of the Senate Committee on Finance appointed Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa to the School Finance Workgroup. The workgroup will submit recommendations to the Committee regarding proposals to replace the school finance funding structure with a less complicated and innovative system that meets the needs of students.

Senator Hinojosa offered the following statement regarding his appointment:

“Our current school finance funding system remains inadequate. We cannot expect to succeed as a state if we do not make smart investments in our students, teachers, and schools.

The state’s funding formula fails to provide adequate funding or distribute it fairly among school districts in wealthy and poor areas. Our children and families should not be penalized or restricted because of the neighborhood they live in. Texas must provide an equal playing field to ensure similar access to educational funds for every public school system regardless of wealth or location.

Education is the best equalizer. We must give our school children the best resources we can for them to succeed and to simultaneously ensure our state’s future.”

Other members of the committee include: Senators Larry Taylor (Chair), Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Kelly Hancock, Kel Seliger, and Royce West.

Senator Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa proudly represents the counties of Nueces, Jim Wells, Brooks, and Hidalgo (part). Senator Hinojosa served as the Senate President Pro Tempore of the Texas Senate in the 84th Texas Legislature. Senator Hinojosa currently serves as Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, and serves on the Senate Committees on Natural Resources & Economic Development; Transportation; Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs as well as the Sunset Advisory Commission.

Comments are closed.